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STATE OF IDAHO 
 

DEATH BENEFITS 
  
 
To obtain certified copies of registered personal documents, contact Vital Statistics, 
Statehouse, Boise, ID 83720, phone (208) 334-5988. 
  
 

STATE DEATH BENEFITS 
 

Beginning January 1, 2001, there is a state death benefit paid for the line-of-duty death of 
any certified peace officer, detention officer, or correctional officer in the employ of the state 
or a political subdivision of the state.   
 

The sum of $100,000 will be disbursed to a surviving spouse, with or without dependent 

children. In the event there is no surviving spouse, the sum of $100,000 will be disbursed 

evenly to surviving dependent children under the age of 21.  In the event there is neither a 

surviving spouse nor surviving dependent children under the age of 21, the sum of $40,000 

will be disbursed to the surviving parent or parents of the slain officer, to be split equally 
between the natural or adopted parents of the slain officer. 
 

The death benefit provided in this section shall not be subject to state income taxes, and 
shall not affect, nor be affected by, any death benefit payments as may be provided under 
chapter 13, title 59, Idaho code. 
 
 

STATE PENSION BENEFITS 
 

SURVIVOR COMPENSATION 
 
In the event a paid policeman is killed or sustains injury, from which death results, while in 
the performance of his duty or from causes disconnected with his official duties but during the 
period of his service, and leaves surviving spouse or minor child or children if spouse has 

predeceased officer shall be paid from the retirement fund a yearly sum equal to 1/2 of the 

amount of the salary attached to his/her rank for a period of one year next preceding date 
of death.  Payments will be made to remarried spouse for sole benefit of minor children until 

children reach age 18.  Unmarried officer leaving dependent natural father and mother, 

benefit pay shall be paid 50% to each parent until death. 
 
In event any paid policeman shall die within three (3) months, from and as a result of injuries 
received in performance of duty or from causes disconnected with his official duties but 
during the period of his service and shall at the time of his death be unmarried but shall leave 
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surviving him dependent natural father and mother, the retirement or benefit pay to which he 

would have been entitled thereunder shall be paid fifty per cent (50%) to each of the 
surviving parents during the continuance of his or her natural life. 
 

ORDER OF ELIGIBILITY 

 

• Spouse 

• Minor child/children under the age of 18 

• Natural dependent parents 
 

Contact: Public Employees Retirement System, 820 Washington, Boise, Idaho, 83702, 
(208) 334-3365. 
 
 

EDUCATION BENEFITS 
 

Idaho Statutes, Title 33, Education, Chapter 43, Scholarships 
Any dependent of a full-time or part-time public safety officer, employed by or volunteering 
for the state of Idaho or for a political subdivision of the state of Idaho, which public safety 
officer is or was a resident of the state of Idaho at the time such officer was killed or disabled 

in the line of duty shall be admitted to attend any public institution of higher education 

or public professional-technical college within the state of Idaho without the necessity of 
paying tuition and fees therefore.  
 

Said dependents shall be provided by the institution or college with books, equipment and 

supplies necessary for the pursuit of the dependent’s chosen program of enrollment not to 

exceed the actual cost therefore, or $500, whichever is less, per quarter, semester, 
intensified semester, or like education period.  
 

Said dependent shall be provided with the institution or college’s published normal on-

campus residential facility housing and meals program for each month the dependent is 
enrolled full time under this statute and continues to actually reside in such on-campus 
residential facility.  
 

Provided however, that the educational benefits provided for in this section shall not exceed a 

total of 36 months or 4 nine-month periods; provided further that such educational benefits 
shall not extend beyond 10 years following the date the dependent receives a high school 

diploma, a high school equivalency diploma, a special diploma, or a certificate of high school 

completion, or beyond the date such dependent turns 30 years old, whichever comes first. 
 
The dependent shall be required to meet the educational qualifications as such institution of 
higher education or professional-technical college has established for other prospective 

students. Application for eligibility under this section shall be made to the state board of 

education and board of regents of the University of Idaho. The board shall verify the 
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eligibility of the dependent and communicate such eligibility to the dependent and the affected 
institution or college. 
 
The scholarships provided in this section shall be available for dependents of public safety 

officers who were killed or disabled in 1975 or thereafter. 
 
Note-We interpret the above information to mean the school which the dependent wishes to 

attend will submit required paperwork to the state board of education and board of regents of 

the University of Idaho for eligibility determination. Talk with the institution you wish to 

attend – and take a copy of this information – so they can refer to the appropriate Idaho 

statute. 

 
 

HEALTH BENEFITS 
 

Varied depending upon police department benefits.  Contact the Benefits Assistance Officer 

in your agency. 
 
 

WORKERS' COMPENSATION 
 
Workers' Compensation coverage is compulsory for employers in Idaho. 
 

The benefit is 45% of the employee's wage if survived by a spouse only or 60% if survived 

by a spouse and child(ren), with a minimum weekly benefit of $175.50 and a maximum 

weekly benefit of $261.30, with a maximum period of 500 weeks.  There is also a 

maximum allowance of $6,000 to cover actual expenses of transportation of employee's body 
to his or her place of residence within the United States or Canada. 
 

Upon remarriage, spouse receives either 180 weeks of compensation or balance of 500 
weeks, whichever is less. 
 

To receive workers' compensation benefits the surviving spouse must take the initiative and 

file a workers compensation claim through a workers' compensation attorney to receive any 
compensation.  The determination as to whether the claim will be paid will be determined by 
the Workers' Compensation Appeals Board. 

 
Contact the Idaho State Industrial Commission, P. O. Box 83720, Boise, ID 83720-0041, 
telephone (208)334-6000. 
 
 

PENSION PAYMENTS 50-1516 
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Disability under Workers' Compensation:  Any policeman, father, mother, widow, child or 
children of a policeman are entitled to compensation under the Workmen's Compensation 
Law shall draw benefits under provisions of this chapter only to the extent that the benefits 

under provisions of this chapter exceed those to which he shall be entitled under the 

Workmen's Compensation Law of the state of Idaho, also if eligible he/she (officer) will 
receive retirement under the provisions of this chapter he may make appropriations to the 
board to be retired at (1/2) the rate of pay applicable for the job classification at the time of 
disability. 
 

Contact the Public Employee Retirement System, 820 Washington, Boise, Idaho, 83702 
(208) 334-3365. 
  
 
 
 

PERSONAL LIFE POLICY - INTESTATE 

 

Descent and Distribution - 15-2-201. Quasi-community property. 
 

 (a)  Upon death of a married person domiciled in this state, one-half (1/2) 
  of the quasi-community property shall belong to the surviving spouse 
  and the other one-half (1/2) of the quasi-community property shall be 
  subject to the testamentary disposition of the decedent and, if not 
  devised by the decedent, goes to the surviving spouse. 
 

 (b)  Quasi-community property is all persona property, wherever 
  situated, and all real property situated in this state which has 
  heretofore been acquired or is hereafter acquired by the decedent 
  while domiciled elsewhere and which would have been the 
  community property of the decedent and the surviving spouse had 
  the decedent been domiciled in this state at the time of its acquisition 
  plus all personal property wherever situated, and all real property 
  situated in this state, which has heretofore been acquired or is 
  hereafter acquired in exchange for real or personal property, 
  wherever situated, which would have been the community property 
  of the decedent and the surviving spouse if the decedent had been 
  domiciled in this state at the time the property so exchanged was 
  acquired, provided that real property does not and personal property 
  does not include leasehold interests in real property, provided that 
  quasi-community property shall include real property situated in 
  another state and owned by a domiciliary of this state if the laws of 
  such state permit descent and distribution of such property to be 
  governed by the laws of this state. 
 

 (c)  All quasi-community property is subject to the debts of decedent. 
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15-2-202.  Augmented estate.  Whenever a married person domiciled in the state has made a 
transfer of quasi-community property to a person other than the surviving spouse without 
adequate consideration and without the consent of the surviving spouse, the surviving spouse 
may require the transferee to restore to the decedent's estate one-half (1/2) of such property, if 
the transferee retains such property and, if not, one-half (1/2) of its proceeds or, if none, one-
half (1/2) of its value at the time of transfer if: 
 

 (a)  The decedent retained, at the time of his death, the possession or 
  enjoyment of or the right to income from the property; 
 

 (b)  The decedent retained, at the time of his death, a power either alone 
  or in conjunction with any other person, to revoke or to consume, 
  invade or dispose of the principal for his own benefit; 
 

 (c)  The decedent held the property at the time of his death with another 
  with the right of survivorship; or 
 

 (d)  The decedent had transferred such property within two (2) years of 
  his death to the extent that the aggregate transfers to any one (1) 
  donee in either of the years exceeded three thousand dollars 
  ($3,000). 
 

15-2-203.  Elective right to quasi-community property and augmented estate. 
 

 (a)  The right of the surviving spouse in the augmented quasi-community 
  property estate shall be elective and shall be limited to one-half (1/2) 
  of the total augmented quasi-community property estate which will 
  include, as a part of the property described in section 15-2-201 and 
  section 15-2-202, of this code, property received from the decedent 
  and owned by the surviving spouse at the decedent's death, plus the 
  value of such property transferred by the surviving spouse at any 
  time during marriage to any person other than the decedent which 
  would have been in the surviving spouse's quasi-community 
  property augmented estate if that spouse had predeceased the 
  decedent to the extent that the owner's transferred property is 
  derived from the decedent by any means other than testate or 
  intestate succession without a full consideration in money or moneys 
  worth.  This shall not include any benefits derived from the federal 
  social security system by reason of service performed or disability 
  incurred by the decedent, and shall include property transferred from 
  the decedent to the surviving spouse by virtue of joint ownership 
  and through the exercise of a power of appointment also exercisable 
  in favor of others than the surviving spouse and appointed to the 
  surviving spouse. 



ID 
- 6 - 

Rev.07/06 

 

 (b)  The elective share to the quasi-community estate thus computed shall 
  be reduced by an allocable portion of general administration 
  expenses, homestead allowance, family allowance, exempt property 
  and enforceable claims. 
 

 (c)  Property owned by the surviving spouse at the time of the decedent's 
  death and property transferred by the surviving spouse is presumed 
  to have been derived from the decedent except to the extent that the 
  surviving spouse establishes that it was derived from another source. 
   

15-2-204.  Right of election personal.  The right of election of the surviving spouse may be 
exercised only during his lifetime by him.  In the case of a protected person, the right of 
election may be exercised only by order of the court in which protective proceedings as to his 
property are pending, after finding that exercise is necessary to provide adequate support for 
the protected person during his probable life expectancy. 
 

15-2-205.  Proceeding for elective share --- Time Limit 
 

 (a)  The surviving spouse may elect to take his elective share in the 
  augmented net estate by filing in the court mailing or delivering to 
  the personal representative a petition for the elective share within six 
  (6) months after the publication of the first notice to creditors for 
  filing claims which arose before the death of the decedent.  The 
  court may extend the time for election as it sees fit for cause shown 
  by the surviving spouse before the time for election has expired. 
 

 (b)  The surviving spouse shall give notice of the time and place set for 
  hearing to persons interested in the estate and to the distributes and 
  recipients of portions of the augmented net estate whose interests 
  will be adversely by the taking of the elective share. 
 

 (c)  The surviving spouse may withdraw his demand for an elective share 
  at any time before entry of a final determination by the court. 
 

 (d)  After notice and hearing, the court shall determine the amount of the 
  elective share and shall order its payment from the assets of the 
  augmented net estate or by contribution as appears appropriate 
  under section 15-2-207 of this code.  If it appears that a fund or 
  property included in the augmented net estate has not come into the 
  possession of the personal representative, or has been distributed by 
  the personal representative, the court nevertheless shall fix the 
  liability of any person who has any interest in the fund or property or 
  who has possession thereof, whether as trustee or otherwise.  The 
  proceeding may be maintained against fewer than all persons against 
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  whom relief could be sought, but no person is subject to 
  contribution in any greater amount than he would have been if relief 
  had been secured against all persons subject to contribution. 
 

 (e)  The order or judgment of the court may be enforced as necessary in 
  suit for contribution or payment in other courts of this state or other 
  jurisdictions. 

 
15-2-206. Effect of election on benefits by will or statute. 
 

 (a)  The surviving spouse's election of his elective share does not affect 
  the share of the surviving spouse under the provisions of the 
  decedent's will or intestate succession unless surviving spouse also 
  expressly renounces in the petition for an elective share the benefit 
  of all or any of the provisions.  If any provision is so renounced, the 
  property or other benefit which would otherwise have passed to the 
  surviving spouse thereunder is treated, subject to contribution under 
  subsection 15-2-207 (b), as if the surviving spouse had predeceased 
  the testator. 
 

 (b)  A surviving spouse is entitled to homestead allowance, exempt 
  property and family allowance whether or not he elects to take an 
  elective share and whether or not he renounces the benefits 
  conferred upon him by the will except that, if it clearly appears from 
  the will that a provision therein made for the surviving spouse was 
  intended to be in lieu of these rights, he is not so entitled if he does 
  not renounce the provision so made for him in the will. 
 

15-2-207. Liability of others. 
 

 (a)  In proceeding for an elective share, property which passes or has 
  passed to the surviving spouse by testate or intestate succession and 
  property included in the augmented estate which has not been 
  renounced is applied first to satisfy the elective share and to reduce 
  the amount due from other recipients of portions of the augmented 
  estate. 
 

 (b)  The remaining amount of the elective share is equitably apportioned 
  among beneficiaries of the will and transferred of the augmented 
  estate in proportion to the value of their interest therein. 
 

 (c)  Only original transferees from, or appointees of, the decedent and 
  their donees, to the extent the donees have the property or its 
  proceeds, are subject to the contribution to make up the elective 
  share of the surviving spouse.  A person liable to contribution may 



ID 
- 8 - 

Rev.07/06 

  choose to give up the property transferred to him or to pay its value 
  as of the time it is considered in computing the augmented estate. 
 

15-2-208. Waiver.  The right of election of a surviving spouse and the rights of the surviving 
spouse to homestead allowance, exempt property and family allowance, or any of them, may 
be waived, wholly or partially, before or after marriage, by a written contract, agreement or 
waiver signed by the party waiving after fair disclosure.  Unless 
it provides to the contrary, a waiver of "all rights" (or equivalent language) in the property or 
estate of a present or prospective spouse or a complete property settlement entered into after 
or in anticipation of separation or divorce is a waiver of all rights to elective share, homestead 
allowance, exempt property and family allowance by each spouse in the property of the other 
and a renunciation by each of all benefits which would otherwise pass to him from the other 
by intestate succession or by virtue of the provisions of any will executed before the waiver or 
property settlement. 
 
 
 
 

PEER SUPPORT 
 

Established in 1984, Concerns of Police Survivors, Inc., (COPS), is a national, non-profit 
organization that works with law enforcement agencies, police organizations, mental health 
professional, and local peer-support organizations to provide assistance to surviving families 
of law enforcement officers killed in the line of duty. COPS has become a “lifeline” to police 

survivors nationwide. Contact the COPS National Office or visit 

www.nationalcops.org/chap.htm for information on a chapter in your area. 
 
 

FUNERAL AND CREMATION BENEFITS  
 
Dignity Memorial funeral, cremation and cemetery providers created the Public Servants 
Program for emergency service personnel.  This program provides dignified and honorable 
tributes, at no cost, for career and volunteer law enforcement officers who fall in the line of 
duty. Visit their website for complete information @ www.dignitymemorial.com and look 
under Public Servants for details.  You may also call 800-344-6489 and speak with a 
representative.  
 


